Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

The more you train, the more you sleep

Time flies – in less than a week, it’ll be a year since I had foot surgery.

Improvements have been small and incremental, as opposed to my sister’s (who’s had the same surgery) painful cracking and spontaneous restoration of range of motion.

Since I haven’t been able to hit it hard (so to speak) at the gym for the past year, I’ve decided to use this hiatus period to do just that.

Work out like hell so when beach season does come around, I’ll be ready.

Actually, that’s a lie – at this point in my life, I’m way past worrying about my weight or what other people think of me (this week. Check back later for changes), so I’m just concentrating on re-gaining the fitness level I had before the surgery.

Currently, that means four days a week of heavy weights (but not as heavy as pulling cable), six days of cardio (two 40 mile bike rides per week, two 1000 meter swims per week, and two hour-long sessions on the elliptical trainer at the gym, since I can’t run any more), and massive napping.

My current workout schedule has me going to bed at an hour that would cause most septuagenarians to point and laugh, but it’s temporary until I adjust to the schedule, and then I’ll be, well, not bright-eyed and bushy-tailed but at least not going to bed with the sun.

At least I don’t feel guilty about indulging in the occasional fatty snack or glass of wine.

Filed under: Non-Work

3 Responses

  1. Craig says:

    Two 40 milers a week! You should come out and ride with the SFVBC people. We meet at CSUN 8am both Sat and Sun mornings. Nice people. Good rides. Mostly sane paces.

    http://www.sfvbc.org/index.php

  2. JCW says:

    You just made me really, really tired. And feel really, really lazy and unmotivated.

    I hope you can live with yourself.

  3. geekhiker says:

    I bow to your workout schedule. :)

    What really amazes me is how self-motivated you are. I go to the gym on a regular basis, but I often wonder if I had a workout partner to help push me (and me them, natch) I wouldn’t do far better. Or do you work with one of the pro trainers now?

    Peggy sez: Nope. All me. I don’t have a trainer. What does inspire me is that my gym is mostly older people, all of whom are in spectacularly great shape from working out for 20 years. Also, weight training makes everything else in life run more smoothly.
    Where do you work out?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

