Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Still alive. Still tired.

So far, this period of unemployment isn’t really producing anything worth mentioning.

Get up, try to organize closets for a while, go to gym, come home, eat dinner, fall asleep in front of the TV. I’ve not had to purchase any new shelving units, so there haven’t been any screaming fits or murderous rages. Yet.

The garden’s overproduced fava beans, so I’ve been giving those away by the fistful to those who will take them. I’m always amazed at how afraid some people are of new foods (“What are they?” “Fava beans. You have to shell them, but they’re really good.” Pause “Um.. ewwww.”), even when it’s being offered for free. Oh, well.

The beans are almost done (they don’t like the heat), and I’ll be putting in tomatoes very soon, along with my standard summer garden staples – cucumbers, carrots, squash (I usually just pull the blossoms off so I never get any squash, which is fine with me), and the like.

I’ve been trying to do four car-free days a week, which actually isn’t that hard since I don’t really have anywhere to go – but for the next couple of weeks, I’m going to have to drive more since I’m doing a series of microdermabrasion ‘treatments’ to try to reduce the appearance of the sun damage on my face (I know, I know, but it’s gotten so bad even I can’t stand it anymore), so I have to stay inside during the day.

It’s kind of making me crazy – I’m not used to staying inside as I’m not a particularly sedentary person. Each ‘treatment’ is on Monday, so I’ll have to stay in for most of the week. I can go out, but I have to go to such insane lengths to keep the sun off my face that more people than usual are pointing and laughing as I walk by, so I’ll just wait it out.

Hopefully, it’ll actually work, although I did get a lecture from the dermatologist about staying out of the sun.

She was unable to answer my question about why someone can’t invent a sunblock that actually blocks the sun so I don’t have to hide in my house like some kind of emo teenage vampire.

I got up this morning at the crack of dawn (actually a little before dawn) and got in about half of my normal bike ride before I had to go back inside.

I’ll be able to go back in the pool (the indoor one) tomorrow, which will be sweet. Then, I can live like a normal person (albeit with super heavy sunblock) until Monday, when I have to go back to get my face scraped again.

Filed under: Non-Work

4 Responses

  1. JCW says:

    Happy to hear you are still with us.

    Slow period of employment up North as well – and my husband lost his job so it’s big fun up this way.

    We live in a condo, so no room to really garden, but on a whim I bought an artichoke plant and potted it for the front porch. They love full sun and well drained soil.

    Except mine…

    Within minutes of the sun hitting it, it wilts like spinach. If the soil is allowed to dry at all it wilts like spinach. So… I apparently am the proud parent of the world’s only shade loving artichoke that thrives in soggy soil.

    Not terribly impressed with microdermabrasion – have seen better and more affordable results from weekly light glycolic acid peels. The treatments are not mutually exclusive – ask your dermatologist about it. But get used to 40 SPF – it’s become as much a part of my daily life as air and water.

  2. geekhiker says:

    Would you like to borrow my hiking hat with the 4-inch brim? I’m off the trail due to injury myself now, so it’s just sitting around…

    Hmmmm… the Vampire set-electrician… sounds like a novel is in there somewhere…

  3. ironrailsironweights says:

    I recently had to wear a baseball cap outdoors after getting a nasty sunburn on my face. The brim protected my face quite well. What’s more, it’s easier for a woman to wear a baseball cap – if you’re a man, especially after age 30 or so, people will think you’re wearing a baseball cap to hide a bald spot.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

