Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Things to come, I hope.

Yesterday, instead of going to a spinning class, I took the real bike out for a ride.

My standard “I don’t want to work too hard” ride is along Venice Blvd.  to the beach and back – there are no steep hills, it’s got a bike lane all the way out (even though UPS trucks like to park right in the middle of it) and it’s a nice ride with many opportunities to stop for coffee.
It also takes me past several studio lots.
What I saw today on my ride made me very happy – lots of construction trucks full of flats (4′ x 8′ sections of fake wall that are erected to form a set), and art department trucks.
Since construction and the swing gangs start working before we do, I’m hoping this means it’s going to get busy fairly for us very soon. Not that I’m enjoying the rest and increased gym time, but I’d really rather work.

Filed under: Los Angeles, Non-Work

3 Responses

  1. jon says:

    Hi. Glad to hear things are looking up. I have an off-topic question for you. Yesterday I walked by a film crew working in a restaurant and I couldn’t help but notice how beautiful all of the electrical cables looked. They were straight and untangled. Everytime I pull some device out of my backpack (laptop/cell phone charger, etc) the cables are a twisted mess no matter how hard I try to prevent it. What’s the secret to great cables? :-)

    Peggy sez: That’s a post on it’s own. Most cables want to coil clockwise, as that’s how they come off the big spools when they’re made. Coil clockwise, the tie a string around the coil so it stays. But anything thrown in a backpack is going to tangle no matter what. You can try coiling them around a spool, but that’ll take up space.

  2. I could look up “spinning class” on google, but what is it, a spinning class? It sounds like something that ends in dizziness.

    Peggy sez: It’s stationary biking. Used as off-season training for bike racers.

  3. geekhiker says:

    It seems like I’ve seen more production trucks around town than in the past couple of years. Is it at all possible more work is staying in L.A., or just random coincidence?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

