Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Mid-week poll

So, I’m on Facebook, I’m on Twitter, I’m on Foursquare, I’m on MySpace, which I don’t log onto because I know it sucks. Hell, I think I might still be on Friendster (remember that?).

I’ve got a blog. I know lots of other people with blogs, who know lots of other people with blogs, and somewhere somebody cares. We’re all sure of it.

Does this make me a ‘Social Media Expert’?

And if so, how can I use this so-called expertise to make some cash?

I’m just asking because work is still slow – I hear rumors of it picking up ‘soon’, but so far, nothing. I thought I had a day of work on Friday, but since it’s still slow and the competition for the few jobs there are is pretty fierce, I lost the day to someone who can work it better than I can. So to speak.

Filed under: humor, Non-Work

8 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    From what I can tell, “social media experts” just form a giant circle-jerk of praise, where they keep pimping each other’s blogs and tweets by saying “you’re great!” so they can have people say “no, you’re great!” – thus driving up each other’s ad exposure with absolutely NO benefit to their readers.

    Good luck with that! :-)

  2. geekhiker says:

    It depends: are you up for a paying gig as a talking head on one of the cable talk shows? If that’s the case, I’ll certainly vouch for ya.

  3. Sheila says:

    Do you want to check out this post? Another blogger has been talking about this site that pays to have you write little blurbs about anything. I didn’t think much of it until I saw some of the stuff she was getting from this gig. Take a look… there’s a link to the site in her post. http://www.beingcarly.com/2010/06/i-won-ipad.html

  4. There’s a fair number of cable shows — paying the odious cable rate, of course — getting underway, but from what I hear, the broadcast network episodics (full union scale!) will be gearing up for the Fall season in July.

    Hang tough — help is on the way…

  5. JCW says:

    Teach others how to blog.

    Yes… really. There are lots of people out there (like myself) who are what we shall politely refer to as technically “slow”.
    What seems simple enough to many simply is hard for us to wrap our wee, tiny brains around.

    This doesn’t mean that such folk don’t have something to say – and would love to blog if only they had someone to teach them how to set one up and get going.

    I honestly think there’s money in that.

  6. Dude! If you’re really serious, and you do want to make a few bucks, you definitely know enough to help people set up blogs, or get on Facebook, or just get a general, overall sense of how this cockamamie Internet works.

    I don’t have the patience for it, but there is need, especially if you can do it at a price.

    Just please, please don’t call yourself a social media expert. Even the douchebags and assclowns are finally getting how they’ve forever tainted the term, and have moved on.

    Seriously. Come out to the Biznik meetup in July. Meet some peeps. You can do this, no problem.

  7. Social media only works if you have 20,000 followers and you reply to everything and anything they say. Bonus points if you put a LOL at the end of every comment.

    Nothing beats knowing real people in the real world, on earth.

    I cat wait till the “social media” fad fades away!

  8. Scott Spears says:

    You can get ads on your site via Google adsense. My brother has a movie review site up called Genationxmovies and he’s raked in $100 in 2 years. Woo-frickin’-hoo. Now I will say you probably get a lot more hits than he does. One thing he did learn is if he reviewed a legal thriller, on that page google with place ads for attorneys and the like and one click on the ad could get him $3-$5, so do some rants about lawyers or the legal system and get rich. I’m just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

