Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Saturday Photo

Sort of impulse buy

Although work’s been slow, I’ve done okay with the money this time (so far), so when I went looking for new bikes – not intending to buy one, just to look – the sales guy pulled some serious ninja moves on me.

I didn’t even see him pounce, and the next thing I knew, my charge card was out and they were loading it into the car for me.

It probably helped that he was very, very cute and enthusiastic about bikes.

So far I’ve only ridden it about four miles, but it’s awesome and I had this big stupid grin on my face while I pedaled through the streets.

I hadn’t realized how hard I’d been having to work on the old bike (cheapie decade-old hybrid ‘mountain’ bike fitted with road slicks) until I got on this one, looked down at the computer and realized I was cruising along with no effort at a speed which used to really make me sweat.

Sweet.

Hopefully, work will pick up so I won’t keep freaking out about money and can just enjoy my fan-fucking-tastic new bike.

Filed under: Non-Work, Off-Topic, overspending, Photos

4 Responses

  1. ironrailsironweights says:

    Looks like a Cannondale … the world’s only bicycle brand named after a commuter train station. Hope you enjoy it!

    Peter

    Peggy sez: It is a Cannondale.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hopefully the Teamster’s won’t strike. I’ve had a very slow three months and am just now going back to work. (I’m a grip) Now more labor strife looms on the horizon. Good luck sister.

  3. l says:

    It has been a very slow last three months for myself. (I’m a grip). I’m now back to work, but just learned that the Teamsters might strike. I’m sure you know that their contract expires on Aug. 1. Good luck sister. More labor strife looms ahead. What a strange couple of years lately. First the Writer’s strike. Then the crash and the limbo with the actors. Now this. We sure have strange careers don’t we?…

    Peggy sez: I honestly don’t think it’ll come to a strike right now.

  4. geekhiker says:

    I’ve been dreaming of a new bike lately myself. What model did you happen to get?

    Peggy sez: It’s a Cannondale Quick CX. It’s what they call a ‘mixte’. A cyclocross type bike that’s mainly for commuting. I really liked the Surly Crosscheck, but it was out of my price range.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

