Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

This week’s installment of “The Best Laid Plans”

Friday, I didn’t take a nap before work as I thought I was going up in the condor all night, which would have meant at least some sleep.

Of course, my lift was only in play for one scene which, also of course,  was scheduled for  the very end of the night. Since I wasn’t scheduled to go up before 3 am (or so), I ended up on the ground, working the set all night.

At least I remembered to bring the semi-waterproof shoes as we were using rain bars – but sadly, I brought the ‘I’m going to be off my feet all night’ shoes and not the ‘I’m going to be standing for 13 hours’ shoes.

Of course.

By the time my lift went up in the air, my feet had (thankfully) numbed out – which was much better than the stabbing pain I’d been experiencing. Remind me never, ever to leave my house again without bringing everything I own.

Got home after the sun came up, passed out for a few hours, then failed to accomplish much of anything due to being way, way beyond tired.

I vaguely remember hanging some laundry out on the clothesline, which seemed like a fine idea at the time.

A friend had a Halloween party Saturday night, but as I was starting to see things that weren’t there I bowed out and went to bed early.

Also of course, I forgot to bring the laundry in before I passed out and woke up this morning to rain. Dammit.

I felt much better today, which was good as I had to re-do the laundry.

I’m off to bed early again tonight as I’ve got an early call in the morning.

Call time: 5 pm

Wrap time: 6 am

Filed under: crack of dawn, locations, up all night, Work

5 Responses

  1. Bill Johnson says:

    The best and cheapest money you will ever spend is on a set of custom orthotics that will go into all your shoes. I’m a convert. I’m willing to preach.

    You will find yourself sitting in a waiting room filled with old guys, ballerinas and state track champions. Doc will take a mold of your foot. 2 weeks later, built inserts. You will never have numb feet again. You will have less or no knee pain. Even your back will feel better. Just do this.

    • Peggy Archer says:

      I already have them. When I know I’m going to be standing all night, I wear them, but they’re not that great for me. They *reduce* the pain but don’t completely eliminate it.

      • Bill Johnson says:

        Perhaps, and I say this with love, they suck. Or ain’t working no more. Or they never did. More of an art than a science to build them. Or they need to be adjusted.

        I killed one pair and had to have them rebuilt tougher. I probably wear them 98% of the time. If I’m not in Tevas or dress shoes, they’re in.

        Also, if you “reduce” the pain most of the time, your posture and alignment gets better. It’s incremental. Try ’em everyday for a week and see. Can’t hurt.

  2. A.J. says:

    Did you get to use your new Water Ops gloves you mentioned in a previous post??

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

