Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

On the wrong side of town.

Just as I knew it would happen, my first day of work after moving to the west side of the city is at a stage which is a five-minute bike ride from the old apartment.

Of course. How could it be any other way?

What’s really going to get me is traffic flow. From the old place, I was going against the rush hour flow just about anywhere in the city (except downtown, of course).

Tomorrow, I’m going to be going with the traffic snarl for the entire ride, so I’m geared up to sit in the car for what will seem like forever.

Guess I’ll have to leave really early and hope for the best. Also, maybe no giant cup of coffee on the drive.

Or maybe I will have the coffee and just hope for the best.

At least I’ve got a day of work.

Filed under: crack of dawn, life in LA, long long drives, Work

2 Responses

  1. geekhiker says:

    If I had any tricks for driving on the westside, I’d share them. The one thing I know is this (at least in terms of surface streets): east-west usually moves faster than north-south. I don’t know why, but if I’m on Olympic or Pico, I’m always going faster than Sepulveda or Westwood, by a factor of 2 or 3. The only thing I can figure is that the city councilmen have rigged the system so it’s faster for them to get from downtown to their beach homes…

  2. boskolives says:

    After living in almost every part of the city over the years, I now find myself in the Van Nuys area, where I’ve discovered the route that everyone else knows is the long thin parking lot (a.k.a. “The 405). The workaround? When I have an 8 o’clock call at Fox or Sony I have to leave before 6:15 a.m. so it will be a 15 minute drive, any later and the length of the drive increases exponentially. This means that I’m in the West side of town before 6:30, I stop in a restaurant and have breakfast, read the paper, do the crossword, and then it’s a comfortable drive to the lot.
    Boring, yes. White knuckle drive hoping to not get caught in the big crunch, no. As you know, it’s not always sunglasses and autographs.

    Jerry w.
    http://www.boskolives.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

