Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

The overwhelming joy of the turnaround blues.

This week started out with my only having one day of work – today.

When I arrived at the stage this morning, the first AD looked at me and said “It’s going to be a long one today. We have a lot of work to do.”

Fine with me. If I’m only going to get one day, it might as well be a good one.

Right after lunch, I got a phone call from a friend. “Hey, do you want to come and work tomorrow and Thursday?”

Does a bear shit in the woods?

Of course I wanted to work tomorrow and Thursday.

“Great. It’s a six AM call in southwest Bumfuck.”

Awesome. One day of work is okay. Three days of work is super fantastic, even if I don’t get much sleep and it’s an hour-long drive each way.

Since rules about minimum turnaround* time don’t apply when one is going to a different show the next day, all I could do was hope for an early-ish wrap.

They called it at 7:30 (7 AM call time), and we had to pack our carts, so that put us out at 8 pm (12 hours. Long enough to make some money, not long enough to hurt).

A quick stop on the way home for something to eat for lunch tomorrow and a replacement battery for my car’s door remote and I was good to go.

It’s 9 pm now, and I’ve got to get up at 4 am, so I think I’ll wind this up and hit the hay.

Yay work!

*Turnaround is the time in between when one is dismissed for work at the end of the day and when one must report to work the next day. Generally, it’s considered  bad form to give less than 10 hours, but it’s sometimes done.

Filed under: crack of dawn, locations, Work

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

