Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Mid-week photo

Staging area

The problem with placing lights on the muddy shore of a “lake” is that at dusk it’s very, very difficult to tell where the firm mud that one can safely walk on begins and the slippery, oozy guck that offers no purchase  begins.

I seem to have a talent for finding the slippery stuff right when I’ve got a light and a stand in my hands and the gaffer’s looking right at me.

What I really wanted to do when I started simultaneously sinking in the muck and sliding towards questionably clean water was to drop everything and grab onto the nearest tree branch. But that would result in the lamp falling in said muck, which meant I’d have to hike back up the steep hill to the truck to get another light while the entire company waited on my slow ass.

So, I gripped the stand tightly, tried to not think too much about what was or wasn’t in the water and slogged onwards.

Lucky for me the stuff didn’t ooze over the tops of my shoes, because that would have been extra disgusting. Even more disgusting than having to scrape smelly mud off of said shoes at the end of the night.

Wish I’d remembered to get some of the rubber boots they had at the truck.

Filed under: camera, hazardous, locations, mishaps, Photos, Work

One Response

  1. JCW says:

    Today about a half a dozen friends reported to Candlestick Park to play the dead and dying in Soderbergh’s Contagion. In the rain. In the cold. In the mud. Along with about 994 other extras.

    I can see dealing with mud when it means A) A decent wage. B) Continued future work.

    But to be an extra? On a one day shoot?

    I stayed home next to the fireplace.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

