Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Gaaah!

All this internet synchronicity stuff is supposed to make everyone’s lives easier.  Applications talk to each other, share bookmarks, recipes, plans for world domination, etc..

Everything’s automatic, so humanity can waste away our lives playing video games. Or something.

Until it stops working.

Now, all of a sudden, Twitter and Facebook aren’t speaking to one another and despite my telling them to work it out and get over it, there’s still an internet stony silence.

After upgrading my cell plan,  I now have a smart phone (which is turning out not to be all that smart). I’m told that I can do all sorts of things with it, except when it posts something to a blog (this one or the couch blog), Twitter, Facebook and the RSS reader don’t see it.  Also the formatting’s seriously fucked up.

Which sucks, because one of the reasons I got the smart phone was to make updating the blog easier. And to play time-wasting games.

Of course, there’s no way on any of the mobile apps to change this sort of setting, and no matter how hard I press the buttons on the ‘real’ computer, nothing changes.

The ‘smart’ phone also has a battery life of approximately 15 seconds, so instead of uploading clever shit to the internet, I now spend most of my day frantically searching for someplace – anyplace – to charge the damn phone before it dies and I can’t call ‘911’ when some axe murderer appears out of nowhere and attempts to say hello.

Stupid phone. Stupid internet. Stupid technology.

I’d also like to take this time to mention that any ads you see on the blog are placed there by WordPress. I have nothing to do with them, I get nothing from them and I can’t turn them off no matter how hard I try.

Filed under: cranky, Non-Work, Off-Topic, rants

4 Responses

  1. Greg says:

    wow now, there’s a separate feed for the couch blog????

  2. Dave2 says:

    I loves my iPhone + Mac technology lifestyle! I can’t imagine my life without them. Sorry the tech gods aren’t smiling on you today. :-(

  3. snarkolepsy says:

    Keep an eye on the return by date. There are going to be a lot of new phones hitting the market soon. It would suck to be stuck in a contract on something that drives u that crazy.

    I thought you could return them within 30 days or something. If something better comes out in the next few weeks – I’d trade it out.

  4. geekhiker says:

    Mixed feelings on this one. After all, it’s the technology not working right that kinda keeps me employed…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

