Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Weekend report

This past Sunday, Los Angeles hosted our second CicLAvia.  A nice, fairly flat route through downtown  (the fun part, not the scary part) closed to cars and open to cyclists, joggers, skaters, etc..

CicLAvia April 2011

This event was much more crowded than the last one (in October of last year) – so crowded that although I really wanted to have a picnic in the middle of an otherwise busy downtown intersection, there was so much bike traffic that I didn’t feel it would have been safe. I guess that’s more of a good thing than a bad thing.

CicLAvia April 2011

In addition to damn near every food truck in the city, this year there were swag booths, so of course at the halfway point I swaggered over to the SoyJoy booth and tried one, as I’d left my sandwich at home and was pretty hungry after having ridden my bike from the Westside (no, you may not call me crazy. It’s not that far).

Wow. What an experience.  I imagine a SoyJoy bar is what sawdust, rotten fruit,  sugar and pure evil baked into the texture of shoe leather would taste like. It took everything I had not to spit it out in front of the nice folks running the booth.

I don’t even remember which flavor I ate, but after perusing the ingredients list and watching other people’s reactions I suspect they’re all equally horrible.

In a valiant effort to get the taste out of my mouth, I stopped at Cole’s and had a sandwich and a martini (hey, it’s 5 pm somewhere, right?).

Although they were initially resistant to the event, the local businesses have figured out that 150,000 cyclists on a warm day is a blessing from the ‘captive audience’ gods – the streets in front of some of the eateries sprouted bike racks, and in Little Tokyo there was even a bike valet.

CicLAvia April 2011

CicLAvia April 2011

A good time was had by all. If you’re in the Los Angeles area, I highly recommend attending the next event.

Today was spent doing laundry, tomorrow I’ll work in the garden, and then there’s a wild rumor that I’ll have work for the rest of the week and possibly into the weekend.

Yay, work!

Filed under: humor, life in LA, Los Angeles, mishaps, Non-Work, Off-Topic, Photos

2 Responses

  1. Stan says:

    Well, after that review, I’m glad I skipped the SoyJoy bar. I’m not a big fan of those kinds of things anyway. Even at their best, they’re not that good.

    What I’d like to see for next time would be:

    – Remind people to *ride straight*. I lost count of how many people I almost plowed into because they turned in front of me.

    – Get more people to wear helmets. I saw several crashes with people ending up with bleeding heads. As for why they crashed, see above.

    That said, it was still a fun time. It’s just so novel to not have cars around. I just wish people would realize that just because there are no cars doesn’t mean that normal rules of common sense are suspended.

  2. geekhiker says:

    “Sawdust, sugar and pure evil.” Kinda reminds me of the very first PowerBar’s, actually…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

