Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Shin Splints

I can always tell when I need to buy a new pair of work shoes.

Although I only worked two days this week, they were two decent days.

Yesterday, we worked 13.5 hours –  I spent most of the day walking around and around and around the stage fetching various lighting implements and checking to see if crafty had put out anything good.

Then, after a 9 hour turnaround (ouch), I worked 10. 5 hours today, where I walked around and around and around a parking lot fetching various lighting implements and checking to see if crafty had put out anything good.

At the end of the day today, my shins were a week’s worth of splinty.

Two days and a short turnaround should not have jacked up my legs the way it did, so I suspected the most probable culprit – my shoes. Sure enough, when I looked at the bottom of said shoes while I was trying to figure out what exactly was fucking wrong, the tread was about 90 percent gone.

At least it’s an easy answer.

Right now, my legs are smeared with horrible-smelling liniment and tomorrow I’ll go spend my paycheck on a new pair of shoes. For which,  my shins will thank me.

Eventually. Once they stop hurting.

Filed under: Work

5 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    Dr. Scholl asks… are you gellin’ ??

  2. Just curious, Peg — what kind of boots do you favor? I’ve been using Eccos for the last decade. At $200/pair, they’re comfortable and last three or four years before requiring replacement, but I’m always interested in what else works for people in our biz.

  3. Just a note … Oregon Aero has some nice insole inserts (shockblockers). Of couse it doesn’t have high arch support.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

