Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

What I’ve been doing with my weekend

 

The new apartment has ants.

Not the normal garden variety black ants like I had in the old place – these are teeny tiny little brown ants and boy, are they persistent little fuckers.

They also go after stuff that the old ants never touched, such as the dry cat food.

In order to prevent non-stop nagging and pestering, I leave dry food out for the cat and it works pretty well, except when the food’s covered in those goddamn ants.  I’ve tried just about everything, and they keep going after the food, causing me to throw out about two full cups of pretty expensive ant-infested kibble.

Don’t tell me to buy cheap food. The can’t won’t eat it and I’m the one that has to listen to the yowling.

So this weekend, I figured out a way to thwart them.

I bought two bowls, one slightly larger than the other, filled the smaller one with food and the larger one with about a quarter-inch of water.

 

Trying to outsmart the insects

Note the pink. That’s how we roll around here.

Hopefully ant-proof cat bowl

That’ll teach ’em. Last time I checked, ants can’t swim.

At least I hope ants can’t swim. With my luck, these have learned.

Filed under: Non-Work, Off-Topic, Photos

10 Responses

  1. hiro says:

    Clever! Hope it’ll work!!

  2. Not swim, but they’ll choke your moat with their dead until they can just walk across.

  3. They can’t swim, but they’ll probably build some sort of bridge with the carcasses of their dead brethren.

    Like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faDJJ7Kl7BA

    Or this: http://youtu.be/IBTjQMtbViU

  4. John Krill says:

    What you did with the two bowls is the first thing I thought of. It reminds me of an old 50s or early 60s movie where the ants invade and kill everything. I can’t remember the ending but they tried flooding the farm fields but the ants just sacrificed themselves until they built a bridge of dead ants and just kept on coming.

    So make sure you check the water for that ant bridge.

  5. Heather says:

    We have those little ants as well. I have managed to put the cat food far enough away that they haven’t managed to find it. The secret when you have a ton of them to kill is glass cleaner. Works like a charm.

  6. Nice — ancient technology solves a very modern problem. It’s hard to beat a non-toxic, pesticide-free moat.

  7. geekhiker says:

    I remember those west-side ants. They once swarmed the cooking dishes in the ten minutes I took to eat my dinner…

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

