Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Finally! Right place, right time.

As you may or may not know, it’s currently hotter than the surface of the sun here in Los Angeles – it happens every year, but we’re usually not ready for it.

Okay, I’m usually not ready for it.

Today our show ran two shooting units – one on a nice air conditioned stage, and the other outside all day in one of the hotter and more far-flung parts of the city.

Lady Luck or someone with an equal amount of influence smiled upon me and I spent my day on the stage unit stage that was just kind of hot.

The air conditioners on the stages struggle when it’s over 100F outside and we’re burning lights inside, so it keeps the stage right about 80F.  Which, when you think about it, is kind of scary since one normally needs a sweater inside the stages.

It was still loads better than the location, which we heard through the grapevine topped out at 109F.

Holy shit. I can’t even imagine the horror of working in the blazing heat… oh, wait. I can. I’ve done it before, which is why I’m so overjoyed to have been on the unit that had the cold air and the shelter from the sun.

I’m on stage again tomorrow, when it will also still be hotter than the surface of the sun.

As an added bonus, the temperature in my ‘it’s near the beach so you don’t need air conditioning’ apartment is surprisingly bearable.

Yay me!

Filed under: life in LA, locations, Work

2 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    When I was working in L.A., they put me up in a nice place ‘near the beach so you don’t need air conditioning’ as a perk of my employment.

    I very quickly learned that this was a dirty, filthy lie.

    There were days I would have killed to have been in a dumpy, roach-infested shack with air conditioning instead of the “virtual paradise” I found myself in. Fictitious ocean breezes notwithstanding, there is no substitute for air conditioning in that heat.

  2. It all depends. When the Santa Ana winds hit SoCal, life is fucked everywhere — the intense dry heat extends from the Inland Empire half way out to Catalina Island. There is no relief on land, and very little at the beach. But in the current late-summer heat/humidity wave, the Valley is Hell on Earth, Hollywood is ten degrees cooler, and the West Side is quite pleasant. The natural air conditioning is working just fine right now.

    But come October — and the Santa Anas — everyone will suffer.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

