Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Home, Improved

Since I moved in here, I’ve had the pots and pans stacked haphazardly on the stove, the counter, anywhere I could find space.

About a month after I moved, I tired of the kitchen related chaos and went to the evil Swedish store and bought a pot rack.

Then, I got distracted. I don’t know why. I guess I saw something shiny. Or a martini. Either works.

This weekend I’d finally had enough – I was going to install that rack and hang those pans if it killed me.

Since I’ve got lath and plaster walls, I went to the trusty hardware store and bought some toggle bolts, as all my cookware hanging on the wall might be a bit heavy.

The first two holes went well. I drilled a 3/8 inch hole, popped in the toggles, and all was happy.

Then, on the other side, I pounded in a nail to guide the drill bit and the nail got stuck. Somehow, I never associated this with there being a stud there, I just kept trying to drill the hole.

When I didn’t break through, I figured I’d just push in the toggle bolt anyhow, hoping that somehow the space behind the wall would magically appear, which, of course, it didn’t.

After giving up and sleeping on it, I went to my friendly neighborhood hardware store where the nice man working managed to suppress his snickers long enough to help me figure out how to do this:

Nice Rack

That, my friends, is pots and pans hanging on the wall from a rack. And all I really needed was two long hard screws. And washers.

Sweet.

Filed under: mishaps, Non-Work, Photos, , , , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. John Krill says:

    The one on the far left is that one from your self-defense class?

  2. Peggy Archer says:

    John, the one of the far right is actually heavier and more suited to bashing in someone’s brains.

    Dave – thanks for making the joke :)

  3. Burbanked says:

    My personal rule of these kinds of projects, of which there tend to be many at my house:

    First attempt: hoping for success is a fool’s errand.
    Second attempt: Possible success; hope for the best.
    Third attempt: Success! Find creative ways to ignore the other drilled holes that didn’t work out.

  4. Marci Liroff says:

    Being a shorty, I can’t imagine even being able to REACH those pans!

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

