Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

I’m not sure how I feel about this.

By now, I’m assuming that you’ve all heard about the flap over SOPA, a fun, flirty bit of potential legislation that’s attempting to curb internet piracy.

While censorship is, of course, a horrible thing, stealing is also horrible. When you download or stream pirated movies, you’re stealing. From me.

Let me explain.

Below-the-line crew don’t get residuals paid directly as do actors, writers, producers, etc..

Instead, we get what would be residuals paid into our health and pension fund. When people illegally download a movie, that’s lost money that should be going into a fund to keep me from having to eat road kill when I’m old*

Right now, because of piracy, our health and pension fund is under-funded to the tune of some number with a fuckload of zeros at the end.

The criminals, as usual, are way, way ahead of the law.

SOPA is an attempt to give law enforcement a bit more of an advantage.

Except that it’s incredibly badly written. Imagine trying to explain “that interweb thing” to your grandpa and then having him try to fix it.

That’s SOPA.

So. Do I support the legislation as currently written? No.

Do I agree that there’s a huge problem with piracy that needs to be dealt with? Yes.

Since the internet is currently behaving like an octogenarian confronted with a wireless printer setup, do I think everyone needs to calm the fuck down? Yes.

Will I be joining the internet boycott thingy? No.

Unless WordPress does it for me.

*If it’s that bad, I’ll just go skydiving and forget to deploy my parachute. Hey, it’s okay. I’ll be senile. No one will get in trouble.

Filed under: Non-Work, Off-Topic, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

  1. Wen says:

    THIS. This is what I try to explain to people when they want to gank shows off the internet. That when they use the ‘it’s not hurting anybody’ line I tell them that it is actually hurting people including people they know. My plan is to move in with those people when I’m old and can’t afford a nursing home.

    • Peggy Archer says:

      That’s a good idea! Or, we can have them pitch in to our nursing home fund. Between the two of us, we should be able to hold them upside down and shake out all the money.

  2. boskolives says:

    There was a time when I would have agreed with you, but that was before I fell off list of those with enough earned hours to stay on the plan, and now I’ve joined those who can’t seem to get enough hours to re-qualify again within the window of alloted time. So now, all the money that would be at least a little equal to residual payments for my hours of work that I do get aren’t enough to get me back into the land of medical benefits (or any of the rest), so I get nada. At the moment I have no chance of ever retiring, at least not until the last few minutes before I stop converting the nitrogen and oxygen mix I breathe into carbon dioxide and other gasses. I figure that I have enough money for the rest of my life as long as I die by midnight.
    Crap, it’s almost 11…….

  3. ffaelan says:

    You might want to read this blog post by Wil Wheaton to see what people are a bit more pissed about than allowing piracy to flourish

    http://wilwheaton.typepad.com/wwdnbackup/2012/01/today-the-us-senate-is-considering-legislation-that-would-destroy-the-free-and-open-internet.html

    You may notice that 94 million dollars paid by hollywood to push this through, wou;d have been better spend on you and other hard workers in the industry.

    We don’t matter anymore. just their bottom line.

  4. lighttech says:

    just a reminder about the pension plan

    if the feature or tv show is not made in the western US it does not have to pay into the plan so that is why it is horribly under funded at this time the PRODUCERS did it!!! not the pirates

    so all those shows or movies filmed in Canada/ nova scotia, Louisiana, New york ( and some of those guy get our bennies via some weird contract they made up but don’t pay in??) , Texas, florida and the emerging Eastern Europe ( cold mountain movie I’m looking at you –” the south does not look southern enough” says the director really?? that the reason you gave to film there) they don’t pay in at all that’s why the jobs have moved off the west coast

    its time for a US all 50 state contract to fix it or lose it

  5. ironrailsironweights says:

    I saw this show on TV about a British man who has been eating roadkill almost every day for the past 20 years. Not out of any financial necessity, he just liked doing it. He said that in all this time he has had a couple of stomach aches but no serious illnesses.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

