Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

I’m glad someone’s working!

Today, as I came out of swim at 8 am, a PA stopped me as I was about to exit the pool.

“I’ll have to ask you to wait, miss. We’re rolling.”

I was so delighted that something – anything – was shooting in town I forgot to ask what it was, but as soon as I could leave the building I sauntered over to the set (a lacrosse game on the lawn of the park next to the municipal pool) see if I knew anyone on the crew who might throw me a pity day (or three).

I didn’t see anyone on the grip or camera crew that I knew, but I did see a stand-in that I remembered from the last TV show. According to  her, the electricians were all off frantically trying to rig the next location before the company moved (ahead of schedule, of course. When we need the time they’re always ahead), which meant that any attempt to introduce myself would  just garner ire and ill-will, so I chatted a bit and then headed home to make a valiant (but futile) attempt to scrub the itch off my chlorine-soaked skin.

I’m still unemployed, but I’m very heartened to see a shoot here in town. Let’s hope that a decent number of the record number of pilots shooting this year happen here. We all need the work.

Filed under: Los Angeles, Non-Work, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. geekhiker says:

    I hear ya on the unemployment front. At least you’re a little more used to the on-again, off-again life of intermittent work. Having spent so many years at my previous position, being out of work at all is just fundamentally weird.

    Let’s hope things turn up for the both of us soon!

    • Peggy Archer says:

      It’s all about keeping your days structured during down time. Work out at a certain time, eat at a certain time, make a task list for each day (cleaning, grocery, etc). If you can stay on some sort of schedule, no matter how flimsy, it prevents that “I’m unemployed” ennui.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

