Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Oh, ouch.

When I’m working and have cash, I buy Groupons for restaurants and services which I normally can’t afford (massages, facials, etc..). Then, when I’m unemployed, I can go and relax (or eat) for the price of a tip.

Today’s expedition was for a sports/deep tissue massage at one of my favorite places to get sports massages – a medical place.

Don’t get me wrong, the chic spas are super nice and I do enjoy the ambience and cucumber water, but I find the best ‘lean in and make it stop hurting’ therapists at the doctors’ offices and sports clinics.

So today, the therapist looked at me and said:

“Oh, yeah. That shoulder’s not quite right, and your hips are spun in a way that makes me think the (unintelligible) is tight”.

I didn’t even know I had an (unintelligible), much less that it could tighten up.

He then spent the next hour digging his knuckles into my back and hips so hard at one point I really did think I was going to pass out. He kept reminding me to breathe, but I think my diaphragm had stopped working.

But at some point in the fog of pain, everything started to loosen up, even the muscles that normally can’t be de-knotted, even with that crazy foam roller thing at the gym.

Right now, I feel great. The only problem is he’s suggesting I come back once a week (since I’m apparently too tense to loosen up in one session) and right now there’s no way in hell I can afford that.

Next up,  dinner at a swanky fish place in Santa Monica!

Filed under: Non-Work, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. chucksnuc says:

    Sounds like your unintelligible may be the piriformis. That’s what I was told by some PT (you know; physical therapy) fella.

    Wiki says: The piriformis (from Latin piriformis = “pear shaped”) is a muscle in the gluteal region of the lower limb. It is one of the six muscles in the lateral rotator group.
    It was first named by Adriaan van den Spiegel, a professor from the University of Padua in the 16th century.

    There’s a good illustration too, but WordPress says Nicht to your images, Mr. Commenter.

    After two PT forays, one at a West LA pool spa, and daily morning stretches, it’s a little more loose. It’ll get better when I die. Not a big deal, just a bit tight on occasion.
    Get used to it. Hey, some people go through life ugly and stupid.

  2. geekhiker says:

    Maybe time to cache in, write that tell-all biography, and get rich so you can afford to go back weekly?

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

