Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

And now, for a moment, something serious

As many of you know, I have a cat.

A very adorable, yet very elderly (16 as of this coming November) cat. I adopted her as a 6 week old kitten and have provided the only home she’s ever known.

Fuzzy

Were something unfortunate to happen to me, my well-meaning yet clueless family would probably send her straight to the LA County animal shelter.

The problem with elderly cats (and dogs) is that if they end up at a shelter, they’re very likely to be euthanized immediately as homes for geriatric animals are few and far between.

For quite some time, I’ve had an agreement with a very good friend of mine that, in the event of my demise or incapacitation, said friend would double down on the allergy meds and take said cat. Preferably before my sister throws the cat in a pillowcase and drop-kicks her into the in-box at the pound (I’m joking, of course – my sister would never soil a perfectly good pillowcase).

Said friend is now moving out-of-town.

So, I now ask one of you wonderful readers if you would be able, if needed, to provide a home for a sweet yet princess-like cat (healthy, no special needs other than horribly expensive raw food and organic treats).

Tiara not included.

NOTE: Of course I’m not expecting anything to happen to me, but since I’m not a spring chicken either, I feel the need to have a plan.

It’s sort of like a will. None of us really think we’re going to need one, but then that bus comes out of nowhere and your great aunts spend 18 months in probate court fighting over your comic collection while sending the autographed first edition Dickens novel to Goodwill.

Filed under: Non-Work

8 Responses

  1. Dave2 says:

    If I were in the neighborhood, you know I would. :-)

  2. Chip Beckett says:

    I don’t live in LA anymore, but I’d go down and pick her up. I had a 20 year old cat that died last year, and my 16 year old cat is curled up in my lap now. I’d be happy to give another elderly cat a home.

    But nothing is going to happen to you.

  3. Beth says:

    I would absolutely take her if she doesn’t mind dogs and other cats. My most beloved kitty lived to be 27.

    • Peggy Archer says:

      She’s never really been around dogs, so I don’t know. She’s not super happy about other cats, but that’s when they come in here. Don’t know about other places.

  4. Anonymous says:

    The new shelter out in North Hills is no kill. I don’t know exactly what their policy is, but I presume if you donate enough money in your will they’d take your princess

  5. geekhiker says:

    If I were back in L.A., I totally would but, as I’m not, all I can wish you is good luck on your search for a caretaker! :(

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

