Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

A completely new kind of pain

I’m used to my job being physically exhausting.

I’m familiar with coming home worn out and sore. So familiar that I have an entire drawer full of ointments, unguents, and assorted quack remedies for sore muscles.

I am not, however, familiar with being mentally exhausted at the end of the day.

I haven’t used my brain this much in a decade. Or more.

Part of the problem is that this show requires the dimmer board operator (that’s me) to also wire practicals (the ‘normal’ lights that you see on camera). Since “they” made me download an app which allows me to bring up channels using my phone (no, really, the console has wifi), I still get numbers yelled at me non-stop even when I’m not physically attached to the board.

It’s fine – it’s just… mentally taxing.

By the end of the day, my head is swimming with numbers, I’ve got that throbby thing in my eye,  and I can’t stare at a computer screen for one more second.

For the first time ever, I’m having to take work home.

Right now I have a folder full of lighting plots that must be completed over the weekend. You know, the weekend. Like when I’m off the clock.

I understand a great deal of the rest of the world routinely does this and it’s no big deal, but it’s … disquieting to know I have to work (for free) when I’m supposed to be downing martinis, brushing the cat,  and going for a nice long swim (not at the same time, of course).

The guys I’m working with are super wonderful and have been very patient (especially my boss who is an angel), but it’s  still frustrating when I have to tell everyone to wait while I figure something out – which usually means dealing with more numbers.

On the bright side, I can wear running shoes (‘trainers’ for non-Americans) instead of my work boots.

Sweet.

 

 

Filed under: studio lots, Work, , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. ironrailsironweights says:

    ’m supposed to be downing martinis, brushing the cat, and going for a nice long swim (not at the same time, of course)

    It would take some effort, planning and above all determination, but they all probably could be done at the same time.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

