Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

My phone explodes!

Normally, May and June are slow months. The television shows are on hiatus, the pilots are done, and any movies left in town are already crewed or haven’t started yet.

Movies – especially the ones that shoot in the desert – like to wait until it’s really super fucking hot to start principal photography.

So, just like January, I curtail my spending as much as possible, and use the time to complete some projects around the house, reorganize the dresser drawers, brush the cat, sell unwanted stuff on eBay, etc..

But this May has been different. Not only have I been working pretty consistently, I’m getting calls for multiple jobs the same day at least once a week.

It’s freaky. Not bad, mind you, but not expected.

Of course, I’m answering ‘yes’ to every call I can.

Sadly, this means I’ve had some very short turnarounds the past few days, as minimum ‘off’ time rules don’t apply when one is moving from one show to another.

Tomorrow, my call is 11 am – an hour drive from my place, which means I’ll work until 11 pm and be home by midnight – at the earliest , and then I have an 8 am call on another show Friday morning.

It’s all wonderful – work while it’s available and rest later.

Filed under: crack of dawn, locations, long long drives, Work, , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. chucksnuc says:

    Hey, you’re in a union.
    I bet that if a brother knew of your predicament, an understanding would be arranged whereby you could recline for a bit early in the day while said brother (and perhaps other brothers) would carry the slack.
    Of course, that’s a bet I cannot make, as I will not be on this set to which you refer at the time to which you refer.
    And I suppose there is an outside chance that this ‘show’ you mention may not even BE a union show. What’s the ‘brother/sister’ quotient on a non-union show? Could be mighty low. I wouldn’t know. I can barely recall the last time I had to work non-union!
    Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

