Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Friday Photo

Windshield, post-explosion

Explosions for movies are all about the sound and fury. Huge colorful flames, ear-splitting noise, and little, if any, debris.

The reasons for this should be obvious. Expensive people standing around, expensive cameras, expensive cars, expensive equipment, and last night a very expensive (I’m not sure but I feel safe assuming here) helicopter.

So one does not, in any way, shape, or form, want debris flying off of one’s perfectly safe explosion.

But sometimes it just can’t be helped.

Cars, for example. One can weaken the frame, strip the vehicle as much as possible and try to minimize the debris, but there’s always going to be crap flying everywhere, and last night was no exception.

We had the ‘hero’ explosion (which shook the bridge!) and then when we went in for coverage, we had to step around a truly impressive debris field.

Unfortunately, this was for the television show that fears and hates free publicity, so no shots of the actual explosion – just the aftermath.

I don’t know about you, but I find safety glass hilarious, especially after it’s been blown 30 feet in the air and slammed into the road surface of a bridge.

Filed under: hazardous, locations, long long drives, Photos, up all night, Work, , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. chucksnuc says:

    Until I somehow lost it, I had a GoreTex jacket w/ a 2′ black mark across the back.
    It was a burn mark.
    A 2 X 4 that fell from the sky. Burning w/ Napthalene. It didn’t hit my head b/c I noticed the fiery object falling toward me. I ducked.
    I wonder if Roger George is still alive. I wonder if he’s still working.
    Good non-union times!

Leave a comment

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool