Totally Unauthorized

A side of the film industry most people never see.

Portable computing not at its best.

My poor little laptop – I bought it cheap off eBay so if something bad happened to it, I wouldn’t much care.

Perhaps that’s not the right way to phrase that – I’d care about a $200 laptop, but not nearly as much as I’d care about a $1200 laptop. So, today, when my computer refused to boot up, I was surprised to find that I cared very deeply indeed.

Not so much for the computer, but for the data which was now completely inaccessible – including drafts of some posts for LAist, about a million photos, a script and a half, and three quarters of a book.

Also, I’m back on the dimmer board tomorrow, so a laptop really helps with quick answers when the gaffer starts asking about obscure movie trivia in between set-ups.

Turns out, all I had to do was re-set the BIOS, which I found out on a computer forum after I’d freaked out and bought another cheap laptop off eBay (the idea being that I’d get the new laptop here, pull the hard drive out of the old one, burn the relevant data off to a CD and then sell the old laptop on ebay “for parts”).

Whoops.

Honestly, though – my laptop’s old so it’s probably not a bad thing to change it for a slightly newer (but still old) one before something even worse happens.

Filed under: computer, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. tony says:

    im glad your computer probs are mostly solved!

  2. Dan says:

    Maybe this little mishap will get you to Fry’s to get a harddrive and back up EVERYTHING! Remember, it’s not IF a harddrive will fail, but WHEN!

  3. Charli says:

    Buy Sony laptops. I bought one for $1k and got half it’s value after 2-3 years of service. They have great resale value. Sorry to hear ’bout your puter, but I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2004 - 2009
All Rights Reserved

Blogroll

Not blogs, but cool

